All-NBA teams will no longer be divided by positions. Additionally, there will be a 65-game minimum requirement for eligibility, which means that players must participate in at least 65 games in the regular season to be considered for selection.

Credit: AP - Scanpix
Credit AP - Scanpix

All-NBA teams will be positionless in the new collective bargaining agreement (CBA), with a 65-game minimum to be eligible for selection, according to The Athletic's Shams Charania and Mike Vorkunov.

Charania earlier reported that a 65-game minimum will also be required to win major individual league awards such as NBA MVP.

All-NBA teams have existed since the initial 1946-47 season. For the first nine seasons, All-NBA teams were positionless. The league transitioned to the center, two forwards, and two guards setup for the 1955-56 campaign.

The return to a positionless approach is a reflection of the changing nature of basketball and the increased versatility of players in the modern game.

The new CBA will run through 2029-30 unless either side opts out after the 2028-29 season.

The agreement also includes the introduction of an in-season tournament, a new luxury-tax level, new investment opportunities for players, and the legalization of marijuana usage.

We want to hear from you. Be the first to comment!
Thank you for reporting a comment

Add comment

We have the right to remove comments which are offensive, contains abusive language, or violates other rules of the website