Credit: FIBA
Credit FIBA

32 teams will compete in the Basketball Champions League next season. 28 of them have already been confirmed, and four more will get in by competing in the Qualification Round.

The 28 confirmed teams have been split into four pots, according to the BCL Club Ranking and Country Rankings.

BCL Regular Season pots:

Pot 1: AEK Athens (Greece), Era Nymburk (Czech Republic), Hapoel Holon (Israel), Hapoel Jerusalem (Israel), Hereda San Pablo Burgos (Spain), Lenovo Tenerife (Spain), Nizhny Novgorod (Russia), SIG Strasbourg (France).

Pot 2: Besiktas Icryptex (Turkey), Dinamo Sassari (Italy), Falco Szombathely (Hungary), Filou Oostende (Belgium), Happy Casa Brindisi (Italy), Dijon JDA (France), PAOK Thessaloniki (Greece), Pinar Karsiyaka (Turkey).

Pot 3: Baxi Manresa (Spain), Darussafaka Tekfen (Turkey), Galatasaray (Turkey), Mhp Riesen Ludwigsburg (Germany), Rytas Vilnius (Lithuania), Tofas Bursa (Turkey), Unicaja Malaga (Spain), VEF Riga (Latvia).

Pot 4: EWE Baskets Oldenburg (Germany), Igokea (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Lavrio Megabolt (Greece), Stal Ostrow Wielkopolski (Poland), Winner QRT1, Winner QRT2, Winner QRT3, Winner QRT4.

Similar to the Olympic Qualification Tournament, there will be four Qualification Round tournaments, with six teams in each one. Only one team from each tournament will punch a ticket to next year's BCL.

The 24 that will compete in the qualification have been divided into six pots, based on the BCL Club Ranking. The ranking is based on the BCL Country Ranking for clubs that have not yet participated in the competition.

BCL Qualification Round pots:

Pot 1: Bakken Bears (Denmark), Brose Bamberg (Germany), Le Mans (France), Peristeri (Greece).

Pot 2: Fribourg Olympic (Switzerland), Mornar Bar (Montenegro), Opava (Czech Republic), Tsmoki Minsk (Belarus).

Pot 3: AEK Larnaca (Cyprus), Belfius Mons-Hainaut (Belgium), Levski Lukoil (Bulgaria), Sporting CP (Portugal).

Pot 4: Kapfenberg Bulls (Austria), London Lions (Great Britain), Parma (Russia), U-BT Cluj-Napoca (Romania).

Pot 5: De'Longhi Treviso (Italy), Hapoel Eilat (Israel), Juventus Utena (Lithuania), Salon Vilpas (Finland).

Pot 6: Kalev Cramo (Estonia), Prometey (Ukraine), Split (Croatia), ZZ Leiden (Netherlands).

The Official Draw Ceremony for the 2021-22 Basketball Champions League Qualification Rounds and Regular Season will take place on Wednesday, July 7, 12:00 (EEST) at the Patrick Baumann House of Basketball in Mies, Switzerland. The 2021-22 BCL season will start on September 13 with the first Qualification Round.

Show comments
Thank you for reporting a comment

Add comment
  Symbols left:     Total comments: 0

We have the right to remove comments which are offensive, contains abusive language, or violates other rules of the website