Credit: FIBA
Credit FIBA

The FIBA Basketball Champions League has announced a new format for next season.

In a press release, the BCL made it know that next year, 32 teams will be divided into eight groups. The winner of each group will advance to the Round of 16. Meanwhile, the second and third-placed teams will compete in a Play-In to qualify to the Round of 16.

These teams will face each other in a best-of-three series. The home advantage will belong to the second-placed teams. The eight Play-In winners will join the eight group winners in the Round of 16.

There, the 16 remaining teams will be divided into four groups. The two best teams from each group will qualify for the quarterfinals.

The quarterfinals stage will take place in April. There, teams will also compete in the best-of-three series. When the four best teams are known, they will duke it out in the BCL Final Four.

The draw for the Regular Season groups, as well as for the Qualifying Rounds, will be held on July 7. The winner of BCL will be awarded €1 million.

Show comments
Thank you for reporting a comment

Add comment
  Symbols left:     Total comments: 0

We have the right to remove comments which are offensive, contains abusive language, or violates other rules of the website